Indian Army Ranks in Order from Highest to Lowest (Decending)

Indian army is one of the biggest armies in the world and one of the most powerful too. Indian Army Ranks are not just the stars or swords on the shoulder in fact they show the power and prestige of the nation. People of the nation have tremendous respect for Indian Army ranks. Indian Army Ranks are patterned on British and commonwealth system. India has given the Field Marshal’s baton twice since its independence in 1947. The rank of Field Marshal is ceremonial at present, there are no Field Marshal in Indian army structure at present and it has been conferred on only two officer in past, Field Marshal Sam Manekshaw and Field Marshal K M Cariappa.

Indian Army Ranks in Order from Highest to Lowest (Decending)

Commissioned Officers

  • General
  • Lieutenant general
  • Major general
  • Brigadier
  • Colonel
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Major
  • Captain
  • Lieutenant

Junior Commissioned Officers

  • Subedar Major
  • Subedar
  • Naib Subedar

Non Commissioned Officers

  • Havildar
  • Naik
  • Lance Naik
  • Sepoy / Jawan

The rank of Field Marshal is the top most among Indian Army Ranks while sepoy or solar is the lowest rank. The declining order of Indian Army Rank is; Field Marshal, General, Lieutenant General, Major General, Brigadier, Colonel, Lieutenant Colonel, Major, captain, Lieutenant, Subedar Major/Risaldar Major, Naib Subedar/ Naib Risaldar, Havaldar/daffadar, Lance Havaldar/Lance Daffadar, Sepoy/Solar. The rank of 2nd Lieutenant is eliminated from the Indian Army Ranks. An important difference between the Indian army and other armies is that officers do not command platoons-Naib Subedar who is junior commissioned officer do. Before the 1965 the rank of Naib Subedar was known as Jemdar. Our army has shown its power in First World War. It has defeated Pakistan many times. We are proud of it.
Share this Article :


Post a Comment